On The Move

On The Move

news header

news headerHere's what ELA members are accomplishing in the field of education law. If you are an ELA member and would like to include your recent education-law-related news on this page, please log in to our members section and fill out our submission form.

• Congratulations to Michelle McKeown who was appointed by Indiana Governor Mike Pence to the ISTEP review panel which will study alternatives to the statewide standardized exam and make recommendations for a shorter, simpler-to-administer test.http://www.depauw.edu/news-media/latest-news/details/32348/

Cynthia Dieterich, co-chair of the 2015 ELA Annual Conference will begin work as a professor at Sacred Heart University in Connecticut in Fall, 2016.

• Congratulations to Nathan Roberts, who was elevated from Interim Dean to Dean of the College of Education at the University of Louisiana-Lafayette, effective February 2016.

• Congratulations to Dr. William Bainbridge of Jacksonville, FL, who was honored by The Ohio State University in the fall of 2015 with the College of Education & Human Ecology's Award for Distinction, having used the education they received at OSU to improve scholarship and practice.

• New publication by Diana Pullin: Pullin, D. (2015, August 31). Performance measures for teachers and teacher education:Corporate education reform opens the door to new legal issues. Education Policy Analysis Archives, 23(81).http://dx.doi.org/10.14507/epaa.v23.1980

Joy Blanchard will be joining the faculty of Louisiana State University as an assistant professor of higher education in Fall, 2015. Congratulations! (July 2015)

Neal Hutchens of Penn State University has been appointed to the AAUP Litigation Committee, which helps advise AAUP on potential litigation matters. He will serve as a consultant on AAUP Amicus Briefs that fall within his areas of expertise. (July 2015)

Richard Fossey and Todd DeMitchell have teamed up again, creating a companion to the book noted below. This new title is "The Challenges of Mandating School Uniforms in the Public Schools: Free Speech, Research, and Policy" published by Rowman & Littlefield. (June 2015)

• 2014 McGhehey Award winner Richard Fossey and Todd DeMitchell have published a new book with Rowman and Littlefield, "Student Dress Codes and the First Amendment."


Wendy Beetlestone, a member of ELA from 2006-2014, assumed office on November 21, 2014 as a judge of the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, having been nominated in June. Judge Beetlestone served ELA as a reporter for the School Law Reporter for several years while a shareholder at Hangley, Aronchick, Segal, Pudlin & Schiller. Prior to that, she served as general counsel for the School District of Philadelphia, among other attorney positions.

Jeffrey C. Sun and Neal H. Hutchens recently published College Students’Online Speech: Searching for the Appropriate Standards Within First Amendment Case Principles, 2014 Cardozo L. Rev. de novo 129. Visit http://www.cardozolawreview.com/de-novo-2014.html.

• Congratulations to Justin Bathon, an associate professor in the Department of Educational Leadership Studies and adirector of the Center for the Advanced Study of Technology Leadership in Education (CASTLE) at the University of Kentucky, for being awarded tenure.

Janet Decker and Suzanne Eckeshave announced that the 2015 keynote speaker for the Martha McCarthy Education Law & Policy Summer Institute will be GaryOrfield,
Professor, UCLA Graduate School of Education;
Co-Director, The Civil Rights Project at UCLA.

Mark Gooden, of the University of Texas at Austin, recently completed his year as president of the University Council for Educational Administration.

Congratulations to ELA members who have made career moves recently:

• Board member Cynthia Dieterich is Visiting Faculty, Cleveland State University, Cleveland, Ohio.

• Board member Mark Lineburg is Superintendent of Winchester Public Schools in Winchester, Virginia.

• Board member Jeffrey Sun is Professor, Department of Evaluation, Leadership, & Organization Development, University of Louisville, Kentucky.

• Board member Dannelle Walker has left the Tennessee State Board of Education and is now with the U.S. Department of Education Office of Civil Rights, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 

Susan Bon is Associate Professor of Education and Law at the University of South Carolina, in Columbia.

Stephanie Klupinski, formerly Organizational Program Manager, Hawaii Public Charter Schools Commission, in Honolulu, Hawaii, is now Executive Director of Charter Schools with the Cleveland Municipal School District in Cleveland, Ohio.

• Named Of Counsel at King, Spry, Herman, Freund & Faul, LLC, in Bethlehem, PA, was Kathleen Conn.

Brenda Kallio started a three-year term as chair of the Educational Leadership Department at the University of North Dakota, in Grand Forks, July 1.

Jon Anderson, attorney with Godfrey Kahn S.C., was named Lawyer of the Year in Education Law for Madison, Wisconsin.

Cynthia (Dieterich) Mooney, Nicole Snyder, and Christine Villani have had an article accepted for publication in the Brigham Young University Education & Law Journal (ELJ). "Bullying Issues Impacting Students with Disabilities: Highlights of Section 1983, Title IX, Section 504, ADA, and IDEA Cases" is anticipated to be published in the Winter 2015 edition. Their ability to meet and collaborate is a direct result of their attending the ELA Annual Conference!

• Congratulations to Past President Bill Thro, whose book review,The Future of Racial Preferences: A Review of Russell K. Nieli’s Wounds That Will Not Heal: Affirmative Action and Our Continuing Racial Divide & Randall Kennedy’s For Discrimination: Race, Affirmative Action, and the Lawwas just published in the Journal of College & University Law.

John Dayton and a host of other ELA Members and leading education law scholars have completed the inaugural issue of the Education Law & Policy Review (ELPR), a peer-reviewed law and policy journal providing scholarly reviews and commentary on national and international issues in law and policy in K-12 and Higher Education. ELA members have exclusive first access to the ELPR for 30 days through the ELA website, and thereafter the ELPR will be available in print through the Education Law Consortium and free online at www.educationlawconsortium.org